Another 9 things I would like for you and I to know more about you

22 Sep

image

1. What kind of art are you into?

A: Everything! Music, dance, plays, operas, paintings, films, photography… You name it, I’ll ‘ve more than happy to go check it out or take a class on it..ha!

I always thought art to be an expression and extension of the artist, so it really shouldn’t and doesn’t matter what form it comes in.

It is the celebration of the spirit and inspiration behind the work produced that truly matters.

Art is and should be more than just a label, it is about the human spirit.

And in my most humble opinion, the human spirit cannot be explained or contained with mere labels.

image

2. Would you say you are in love with yourself?

A: of course darling, of course! If one does not first learn to love oneself, how will one ever learn to love others??

image

I’m not saying we go the whole way and do the whole narcissistic thing ala Emperor Caligula but love yourself enough to treat yourself with respect and to take good care of yourself.

Everything starts from within, if you have nothing inside, what do you have to give?

image
image
3. If you could change anything about yourself, what would it be?

A: I wish I had ZERO FAT genes and more tall genes so I could look like Gisele Bunchen or any of em Victoria Secret models
image
image

But we all know that ain’t going to happen.

So lets be practical.. I cant think of anything that I’ll wanna change about me self really because I wouldn’t be me anymore if I did change right?

Now where’s the fun in that??

4. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?

A: This has to be my favourite question of the list!!

I fell in love with Morocco when I was 5 watching Lawrence of Arabia (dont ask.. That’s another long story..)

image

and then Austria/Salzburg (and Christopher Plummer..hehe) when I was watching The Sound of Music.

image

At a ripe age of 7, I fell in love with Turkey/Istanbul watching Sean Connery make love (and mayhem) in From Russia with Love
image

and eventually with Rome at age 8 after watching Audrey Hepburn in Roman Holiday (how can anyone not love that film??).

image

So if I had to pick a place anywhere in the world to live it would a tough call amongst the 4 locations above!

My vote currently swings towards Istanbul and Morocco.
image

Morocco has been a favourite so let’s leave that out but Turkey, oh Turkey!

I’m in love with that place. The people are amazing, the culture is amazing and there’s just something incredibly, intangible-ly lovable about that place.
It has an indescribable charm that not many places have. Not to mention the incredible amount of quality museums, ancient city, cultural and world heritage sites that are there.. The thought of it sends good shivers down my spine..
Oh did I mention Istanbul also has a really awesome cultural festival that runs practically for the whole year??
Le sigh..
image

Sigh.. I miss that place already.

image

5. List 5 of your favorite movies, and why you love them.

A: This is as good as asking me which limp would I rather lose – my arms or my legs…(-_-)”

So..! I’m gonna cheat and say that aside from the movies mentioned above, my top 5 favourite movies are..

image

1. Children of Men
One of the most brilliant films made about a dystopian society in the near future, where women have stopped giving birth for good. Realistically scary.

2. Schindler’s List
image

3. The Pianist
Schindler’s List and The Pianist are on this list because I have a thing for war movies, especially if it chooses to focus on the humanity (or lack of) of the victims/abusers.
image

4. All Indiana Jones movies
I’m kinda cheating here but it’s Indiana Jones!!
I fell in love with antiques and archeology because of Indie!!

5. All Fast and Furious movies
Yes…I know it’s kinda trashy but all those cars! All those beautiful, sexy, orgasmic looking cars..!

6. If you could have a superpower, what would it be?

A: I want the power to read people’s minds and fly?

Ha! Fly because I like the freedom that it entails. The freedom to go wherever I want to and to be able to see the world from up above, that sounds really amazing…
image

Power to read another person’s mind because people dont speak their minds anymore!

I think it’s awfully tiring to have to constantly guess whats on the other parties’ mind.

7. What would your ideal holiday be like?

A: Lets see… Lounging on a white sandy beach by the turquoise blue sea, with a good book in hand and an ice cold beer by my side..
image

I love beach holidays but let’s be honest, I’d probably be sick of it after 2days..

I’d much rather be backpacking through antique cities and ancient sites really.

What can get more exciting than checking out, touching and feeling old places??
I love history and art, anywhere that fulfils both that criteria would be my ultimate holiday!
image

Oh oh oh.. I’ve just figured what would be my ideal holiday..

A bloody good mix of lounging, Musuems and getting lost.
image

It’ll be even better if it’s fully paid for.. πŸ˜‰

8. Do you believe in any faith/religion?

A: I have no religion. I believe religions were created by men to explain things they couldn’t explain naturally and as someone or somebody to turn to when they are scared or need someone to blame.

While I have nothing against religions or religious people, religion to me, is another way for those in power to control others.
I respect your choice and the god(s) you believe in so please allow me my right to observe and not participate.
image
But I do believe in faith.
image
image
I have faith in humanity and the inert need and desire to be good and do good. I intend to hang on to that faith for as long as I’m alive.
I mean no harm or ill intent, please do not take offense at my beliefs.
image

9. What was your favourite subject in school?

A: Music, history and language! I recently did Philosophy and Gender Issues, and I think they are pretty awesome too!

This may sound a little crazy, but I want to pursue philosophy and cultural studies further..ha!
image
image

Yeah… I like topics that require me to argue with myself. I’m a nerd..

20 Responses to “Another 9 things I would like for you and I to know more about you”

  1. abrainwithfeet September 23, 2012 at 7:36 pm #

    Oh man! The more i read, the more i find you cool! πŸ™‚ i love the way you answer the questions. And i like your answers too. Haha i like them because some of them are similar to mine. Hehe go shindlers list and the pianist. πŸ™‚ have you tried some of kubrick’s works?

    • panalyah September 23, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

      Ha! Thanks again! If you could see how awkward I look scratching my head now, I bet I won’t come across as being that cool..ha ive only caught Kubrick’s the shining and eyes wide shut.. And man I loved eyes wide shut! Was wondering if I wanna do clockwork orange.. Ha I might need to spend a whole day on that one.. πŸ˜€

      • abrainwithfeet September 23, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

        Haha sorry if i’m too forward or something like that. It’s just that i seldom find someone cool so i try to share the love. Haha never tried the shinnng, but having jack there, i’m sure it’s heavy. πŸ™‚ clockwork? πŸ™‚ yeah, that one really drained me. After watching it one sunday afternoon, i felt tired and a bit heavy. But it is a real interesting piece. πŸ™‚

      • panalyah September 24, 2012 at 11:37 am #

        Oh you should check out The Shining! Its brilliant brilliant work from both Kubrick and Nicholson.. Kubrick kept the pacing of the movie real tight and the gradual descent as portrayed by Nicholson is right at its tip.
        I really like Polanski, Guillermo Del Toro and Scorsese’s works too..ha
        I’m inspired to do a post on movies now..ha thanks for the inspiration!

      • abrainwithfeet September 24, 2012 at 10:18 pm #

        Haha good luck on your post about movies. πŸ™‚ personally, i dont think i could be able to write a comprehensive post about movies. I’m really in love with films and when i talk about my love, i dont think i’ll be able to give her justice by just words. :p to have a lovely discussion about films, we’d need beer and all night. Haha

        Ok, you’ve convinced me, the next movie that i’ll watch is the shinning. πŸ™‚ hmm… Have you tried some of kevin spacy’s works? πŸ™‚

      • abrainwithfeet September 24, 2012 at 10:18 pm #

        Haha good luck on your post about movies. πŸ™‚ personally, i dont think i could be able to write a comprehensive post about movies. I’m really in love with films and when i talk about my love, i dont think i’ll be able to give her justice by just words. :p to have a lovely discussion about films, we’d need beer and all night. Haha

        Ok, you’ve convinced me, the next movie that i’ll watch is the shinning. πŸ™‚ hmm… Have you tried some of kevin spacy’s works? πŸ™‚

      • panalyah September 25, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

        Sorry I took so long to reply..! I couldn’t remeber which movies I had watched Spacey in so I had to google him..ha!
        I had the chance to watch him on stage in Richard III, under the Bridge Project and he was simply magical! I recently rewatched him in Seven, American Beauty and Pay It Forward (not all together of course!) and he really is a very versatile actor! I really like Ken Watanabe and Joseph Gordon Levitt too..have you seen anything by them?

      • abrainwithfeet September 25, 2012 at 10:04 pm #

        Wow! You were able to watch him on stage? Cool! he really is a good actor. Would you believe that i watched “se7en” on tv when i was a young boy and i remembered the title. I was able to get a copy of it just around 5 years ago. That was one of the movies that i watched when i was young that got me hooked on movies. “8mm” was another movie that i loved. The funny coincidence there is that the writter of 8mm and se7en is the same person. πŸ™‚ have you watched “usual suspects”?

        I’m nit really particular about actors so i may have watched some of their films but i just didnt know. Haha how about hitchcock? Do you know him? πŸ™‚

      • panalyah September 28, 2012 at 5:29 pm #

        Anyone who loves movies must watch Hitchcock! my favourite Hitchcock of all times has to be Psycho, Rear Window and Vertigo!
        I can’t remember if its Fox channel or AXN, but they are currently showuing a mini series of Hitchcock’s short films..really awesome!

      • abrainwithfeet September 28, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

        Wow! Really? πŸ™‚ showing his short films? πŸ™‚ hmm… Me, my fan boy favorite is dr.strange love. Hahaha some of my other favorites are dial m for murder and vertigo. πŸ™‚

      • panalyah October 1, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

        Dr Strangelove? Ive never watched that before.. Whats it about? I like dial m for murder too..ha think the series is called ‘Alfred Hitchcock presents’ something something..ha

      • abrainwithfeet October 1, 2012 at 10:52 pm #

        Ah! Alfred hitchcock presents! I think i have heard about it. πŸ™‚ hmm… Dr. Strangelove is about the coldwar of USA and the soviet union. Hehe the soviets made a doomsday device that will automatically launch nukes to the rest of the world if it detects that the americans attacked them. It was made as a deterrent. But the problem was the day it was supposed to be announced to the world, a crazy american general ordered US bombers to attack the soviets. πŸ™‚ hahaha

      • abrainwithfeet September 26, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

        Oh man! I just finished watching the shinning… Mind fuck! Hahaha it was a good kubrick cup of tea. πŸ™‚ haha as usual, you end up just on your seat, staring at your tv and wondering… πŸ˜€ fun! Thanks for inspiring me to watch it. πŸ™‚

      • panalyah September 28, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

        ha! i’m glad you like it.. i just finished Rum Diaries with Johnny Depp and Amber hurt.. its pretty good too!
        You might wanna check it when you can..ha! I’m looking for an opportunity to finsih The Artist but I simply didn’t have the time!

      • abrainwithfeet September 28, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

        Haha my parents beat you! They have watched the artist already. Haha

  2. abrainwithfeet October 1, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

    Hmm…’did you get me reply here? My browser is on the fritz… I dont want to take up so much space on your wordpress page too much. May i get your email address so i can send you emails instead? πŸ™‚ here is my email address. ilibingangmgasakim@yahoo.com

    • panalyah October 5, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

      Hey! Sorry I took so long to reply.. This week has been really really busy..ha my email is amanda.alya@gmail.com could you send me a mail instead? I’m working off my mobile and it’s a lil cranky on the emails..ha all the trouble smartphones give..

      • abrainwithfeet October 7, 2012 at 1:46 am #

        Hay yeah! I emailed you already. πŸ™‚ did you get it?

  3. Chase Gilzow October 4, 2012 at 6:52 am #

    Love your blog!

    • panalyah October 9, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

      Thanks much! I’m trying to come up with as much stuff to write as i possible can.. =)

Leave a Reply

